METHODOLOGY FOR RENTAL MARKET SURVEY

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) conducts the Rental Market Survey (RMS) every year in October 1 to estimate the relative strengths in the rental market. The survey is conducted on a sample basis in all urban areas with populations of 10,000 or more, and targets only privately initiated structures with at least three rental units, which have been on the market for at least three months.

The survey collects market rent levels, availability (outside Quebec), turnover and vacancy unit data for all sampled structures. Data is collected using a combination of telephone interviews and site visits, and information is obtained from the owner, manager, or building superintendent. The survey is conducted during the first two weeks of October, and the results reflect market conditions at that time.

CMHC’s Rental Market Survey provides a snapshot of vacancy, availability (outside Quebec), and turnover rates and average rents in both new and existing structures. There also exists a measure for the change in rent that is calculated based on existing structures only. The estimate is based on structures that were common to the survey sample for both the previous year and the current Rental Market Surveys.

The change in rent in existing structures is an estimate of the change in rent that the landlords charge and removes compositional effects on the rent level movement due to new buildings, conversions, and survey sample rotation.

The rent levels in new and existing structures are also published. While the per cent change in rents in existing structures published in the reports are statistically significant, changes in rents that one might calculate based on rent levels in new and existing structures may or may not be statistically significant.

Difference between Percentage Change of Average Rents (Existing and New Structures) AND Percentage Change of Average Rents from Fixed Sample (Existing Structures Only):

Percentage Change of Average Rents (New and Existing Structures): The increase/decrease obtained from the calculation of percentage change of average rents between two years (example: $500 in the previous year vs. $550 in current survey represents an increase of 10 percent) is impacted by changes in the composition of the rental universe (e.g. the inclusion of newly built luxury rental buildings in the survey, rental units renovated/upgraded or changing tenants could put upward pressure on average rents in comparison to the previous year) as well as by the rent level movement (e.g. increase/decrease in the level of rents that landlords charge their tenants).

Percentage Change of Average Rents from Fixed Sample (Existing Structures Only): This is a measure that estimates the rent level movement. The estimate is based on structures that were common to the survey sample for both the previous year and the current Rental Market Surveys. However, some composition effects still remain e.g. rental units renovated/upgraded or changing tenants because the survey does not collect data to such level of details.

Definitions:

Availability: A rental unit is considered available if the existing tenant has given, or has received, notice to move, and a new tenant has not signed a lease; or the unit is vacant (see definition of vacancy below).

Rent: The rent refers to the actual amount tenants pay for their unit. No adjustments are made for the inclusion or exclusion of amenities and services such as heat, hydro, parking, and hot water. For available and vacant units, the rent is the amount the owner is asking for the unit. It should be noted that the average rents reported in this publication provide a sound indication of the amounts paid by unit size and geographical sector. Utilities such as heating, electricity and hot water may or may not be included in the rent.

Rental Apartment Structure: Any building containing three or more rental units, of which at least one unit is not ground oriented. Owner-occupied units are not included in the rental building unit count.

Rental Row (Townhouse) Structure: Any building containing three or more rental units, all of which are ground oriented with vertical divisions. Owner-occupied units are not included in the rental building unit count. These row units in some centres are commonly referred to as townhouses.

Vacancy: A unit is considered vacant if, at the time of the survey, it is physically unoccupied and available for immediate rental.

Turnover: A unit is counted as being turned over if it was occupied by a new tenant moved in during the past 12 months. A unit can be counted as being turned over more than once in a 12 month period.

Data Reliability Measures

CMHC does not publish a statistic if its reliability is too low or if publication of a statistic would violate confidentiality rules. The ability to publish an estimate is generally determined by its statistical reliability. As indicated earlier, CMHC currently uses the coefficient of variation (CV).

A letter code representing the statistical reliability (i.e., the coefficient of variation (CV)) for each estimate is provided to indicate the data reliability. CV of an estimate is defined as the ratio of the standard error of the estimate to the estimate itself and the CV is generally expressed a percentage. For example, let the average rent for one bedroom apartments in a given CMA be x̄ and its standard error be σ. Then the Coefficient of Variation is given by CV = σ / x̄.

Reliability Codes for Proportions

CMHC uses CV, sampling fraction and universe size to determine the ability to publish proportions. The following letter codes are used to indicate the level of reliability of proportions:

  • A — Excellent
  • B — Very good
  • C — Good
  • D — Fair (Use with Caution)
  • ** — Poor — Suppressed

The following two tables indicate the level of reliability of proportions:

If the proportion is zero (0) and the sampling fraction is less than 100% then the following levels are assigned:

Sampling Fraction (%) range
Structures in Universe (0,20]* (20,40] (40,60] (60,80] (80,100)
3 – 10PoorPoor Poor Poor Poor
11 – 20PoorFair FairFairGood
21 – 40PoorFair FairGoodVery Good
41 – 80PoorFair GoodGoodVery Good
81+Poor Good GoodVery GoodVery Good

Otherwise, the following table is used to determine the reliability level of proportions:

Coefficient of Variation (CV) %
Percentage 0 (0, 5] (5, 10] (10, 16.5] (16.5, 33.3] (33.3, 50] 50+
(0, 0.75)ExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentV. GoodV. Good
(0.75, 1.5)ExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentFairPoor
(1.5, 3)ExcellentExcellentExcellentV. GoodGoodPoorPoor
(3, 6)ExcellentExcellentV. GoodGoodFairPoorPoor
(6, 10)ExcellentExcellentV. GoodGoodPoorPoorPoor
(10, 15)ExcellentExcellentGoodFairPoorPoorPoor
(15, 30)ExcellentExcellentFairPoorPoorPoorPoor
(30, 100)ExcellentExcellentPoorPoorPoorPoorPoor

*(0, 20] means sampling fraction is greater than 0% but less than or equal to 20%; others are similar

Reliability Codes for Averages and Totals

CMHC uses the CV to determine the reliability level of the estimates of average rents and a CV cut-off of 10% for publication of totals and averages. It is felt that this level of reliability best balances the need for high quality data and not publishing unreliable data.

CMHC assigns a level of reliability as follows (CV’s are given in percentages):

  • A — If the CV is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 2.5 then the level of reliability is Excellent.
  • B — If the CV is greater than 2.5 and less than or equal to 5 then the level of reliability is Very Good.
  • C — If the CV is greater than 5 and less than or equal to 7.5 then the level of reliability is Good.
  • D — If the CV is greater than 7.5 and less than or equal to 10 then the level of reliability is Fair.
  • ** — If the CV is greater than 10 then the level of reliability is Poor. (Do Not Publish)
  • 1 April survey was conducted for the last time in 2015.
Choose your location of interest — Help

CMHC’s housing market data is available for multiple levels of geographic aggregation, from national to neighbourhood.

Choose from the pop-up list provided to select your location of interest.

Close this box.
Add this location to your Compare list.
Zoom to and select your location of interest.
Change submarket boundary — Help
Click and drag the top of this box to move it anywhere on your screen.
Options that appear in light grey indicate that they are not available for your current location of interest.

Within a given city, town, or metropolitan area, CMHC provides statistical reporting for a variety of submarkets.

Alter the boundary lines and definitions for your location of interest by changing your submarket boundary display setting.

Housing Market Information Portal

This portal offers free, easy-to-use access to the latest housing market data for Canada.

**Please accept the terms and conditions to proceed.**

Terms and Conditions

CMHC makes considerable effort to ensure that the information and analysis on this site is reliable, but cannot guarantee that it is accurate or complete. The content of the site is general in nature and is not intended as a substitute for professional advice when making significant financial decisions. You understand and agree that your use of the information available on the Housing Market Information Portal will be governed by, and, you will be bound by, the CMHC Licence Agreement for the Use of Data, and in particular, you agree that you may not hold CMHC liable for any consequences that arise if you choose to rely on this information and analysis to make a financial decision.

MÉTHODE DE L’ENQUÊTE SUR LES LOGEMENTS LOCATIFS

La Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) mène l’Enquête sur les logements locatifs (ELL) chaque année en octobre 1 pour mesurer les forces en présence sur le marché locatif. L'enquête porte sur un échantillon de logements pris dans tous les centres urbains ayant une population de 10 000 habitants et plus, et elle vise seulement les immeubles d’initiative privée qui comptent au moins trois logements locatifs et qui sont sur le marché depuis au moins trois mois.

L’Enquête permet d’obtenir des données sur les loyers du marché, les logements disponibles (sauf au Québec), le roulement des locataires et les logements vacants pour tous les immeubles compris dans l’échantillon. Les données sont recueillies par téléphone ou sur place, et l’information est obtenue du propriétaire, du gestionnaire ou du concierge. L’enquête a lieu pendant les deux premières semaines d’octobre, et ses résultats reflètent la conjoncture du marché à ce moment-là.

L’ELL de la SCHL permet de connaître les taux d’inoccupation, les taux de disponibilité (sauf au Québec), les taux de roulement et les loyers moyens des logements neufs et existants. En outre, une mesure est utilisée pour estimer le taux de variation des loyers dans les immeubles existants seulement. Cette mesure tient compte des immeubles qu’ont en commun les échantillons de l’Enquête actuelle et de l’Enquête précédente.

Se limiter aux immeubles existants permet d’éliminer l’effet que les changements dans la composition de l’univers (ajout d’immeubles neufs ou convertis et renouvellement de l’échantillon de l’Enquête) pourraient avoir sur la variation des loyers et ainsi d’obtenir une estimation de l’évolution des loyers exigés par les propriétaires.

Les loyers pratiqués dans les immeubles neufs et dans les immeubles existants sont également publiés. Les taux de variation des loyers sont statistiquement significatifs dans le cas des immeubles existants, alors qu’ils peuvent ne pas l’être si on les calcule en incluant les logements neufs et existants.

Différence entre la variation en pourcentage des loyers moyens (immeubles neufs et existants) ET la variation en pourcentage des loyers moyens de l’échantillon fixe (immeubles existants seulement)

Variation en pourcentage des loyers moyens (immeubles neufs et existants) : Le résultat (hausse ou baisse) du calcul de la variation en pourcentage des loyers moyens d’une année à une autre (par exemple : dans le cas d’un loyer moyen qui passerait de 500 $ une année donnée à 550 $ l’année suivante, le résultat serait une hausse de 10 %) est influencé par l’évolution de la composition de l’univers des logements locatifs (par exemple, l’ajout à l’univers de l’enquête d’ensembles neufs de logements locatifs luxueux, la rénovation ou la modernisation d’unités locatives et le roulement des locataires peuvent faire monter les loyers moyens par rapport à l’année précédente) et par la variation du niveau des loyers (c’est-à-dire par les hausses et les baisses du niveau des loyers exigés par les propriétaires-bailleurs).

Variation en pourcentage des loyers moyens de l’échantillon fixe (immeubles existants seulement) : Cette mesure permet d’estimer la variation du niveau des loyers. L'estimation est faite à partir des données sur les immeubles faisant partie de l'échantillon commun aux Enquêtes de l'année en cours et de l'année précédente. Par contre, le résultat est quand même influencé, dans une certaine mesure, par l’évolution de la composition de l’univers des logements locatifs (par exemple, par la rénovation ou la modernisation d’unités locatives et le roulement des locataires, des facteurs qui ne sont pas mesurés par l’enquête, les données recueillies n’étant pas assez détaillées).

Définitions:

Immeuble ou ensemble d’appartements locatifs : Tout immeuble comptant au moins trois logements offerts en location, dont un ou plus n’a pas d’entrée privée au rez-de-chaussée. Les habitations occupées par les propriétaires n’entrent pas dans le nombre total de logements locatifs compris dans les immeubles.

Immeuble ou ensemble de logements en rangée locatifs : Tout immeuble comptant au moins trois logements contigus avec entrée privée au rez-de-chaussée qui sont offerts en location. Les habitations occupées par les propriétaires n’entrent pas dans le nombre total de logements locatifs compris dans les immeubles. Les logements (ou maisons) en rangée sont parfois appelés logements en bande.

Logement disponible : Un logement locatif est considéré comme étant disponible si le locataire actuel a envoyé ou reçu un avis de déménagement et qu’aucun autre locataire n’a signé de bail, ou encore si le logement est vacant (voir la définition de « logement vacant » ci-dessous).

Logement vacant : Un logement est considéré comme étant vacant s’il n’est pas occupé au moment de l’Enquête et qu’il est prêt à accueillir un nouveau locataire immédiatement.

Loyer : Montant réel que les locataires paient pour leur logement. Aucun rajustement n’est fait selon que des commodités et services tels que le chauffage, l’électricité, le stationnement et l’eau chaude sont inclus ou non dans le loyer. Dans le cas des logements disponibles ou vacants, le loyer correspond au montant demandé par le propriétaire. Les loyers moyens figurant dans la présente publication donnent une bonne indication du montant que paient les locataires selon la taille des logements et le secteur géographique. Les services comme le chauffage, l’électricité et l’eau chaude peuvent être compris ou non dans le loyer.

Roulement ou rotation : Un logement a connu un roulement de locataires s’il est occupé par un nouveau locataire ayant emménagé au cours des 12 derniers mois. Pour un même logement, il peut y avoir plus d’un roulement de locataires durant la même période de 12 mois.

Mesures de la fiabilité des données

La SCHL ne publie aucun chiffre dont le degré de fiabilité est trop faible ou dont la diffusion contreviendrait aux règles établies en matière de confidentialité. De façon générale, la décision de publier un chiffre estimatif est fondée sur son degré de fiabilité statistique, mesuré par la SCHL au moyen du coefficient de variation (c.v).

Chaque estimation fournie est assortie d’un code à une lettre indiquant son degré de fiabilité statistique (déterminé selon le c.v.). Le c.v. d’un chiffre estimatif correspond au rapport entre l’écart-type et la donnée estimative; il s’exprime en pourcentage. À titre d’exemple, si x̄ représente le loyer moyen des appartements de une chambre dans une RMR donnée et que σ représente son écart-type, le coefficient de variation est alors obtenu selon la formule suivante : CV = σ / x̄

Codes indiquant le degré de fiabilité statistique des proportions

La SCHL utilise le c.v., le taux d’échantillonnage et la taille de l’univers pour déterminer si les proportions sont suffisamment fiables pour être publiées. Les codes suivants servent à indiquer le degré de fiabilité des proportions :

  • A — Excellent
  • B — Très bon
  • C — Bon
  • D — Passable (utiliser avec prudence)
  • ** — Faible – Donnée supprimée

Les deux tableaux ci-dessous indiquent le degré de fiabilité des proportions :

Si la proportion est égale à zéro (0) et le taux d’échantillonnage est inférieur à 100 %, on évalue le degré de fiabilité des données comme suit :

Taux d’échantillonnage (%)
Nombre d’immeubles dans l’univers (0,20]* (20,40] (40,60] (60,80] (80,100)
3 – 10FaibleFaible Faible Faible Faible
11 – 20FaiblePassable PassablePassableBon
21 – 40FaiblePassable PassableBonTrès bon
41 – 80FaiblePassable BonBonTrès bon
81+Faible Bon BonTrès bonTrès bon

*(0-20] signifie que le taux d’échantillonnage est supérieur à 0 % mais inférieur ou égal à 20 %; les autres données sont présentées suivant le même modèle.

Dans les autres cas, on utilise le tableau suivant pour déterminer le degré de fiabilité des proportions :

Coefficient de variation (c.v.), en %
Proportion 0 (0, 5] (5, 10] (10, 16.5] (16.5, 33.3] (33.3, 50] 50+
(0, 0.75)ExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentTrès bonTrès bon
(0.75, 1.5)ExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentExcellentPassableFaible
(1.5, 3)ExcellentExcellentExcellentTrès bonBonFaibleFaible
(3, 6)ExcellentExcellentTrès bonBonPassableFaibleFaible
(6, 10)ExcellentExcellentTrès bonBonFaibleFaibleFaible
(10, 15)ExcellentExcellentBonPassableFaibleFaibleFaible
(15, 30)ExcellentExcellentPassableFaibleFaibleFaibleFaible
(30, 100)ExcellentExcellentFaibleFaibleFaibleFaibleFaible

Codes indiquant le degré de fiabilité des moyennes et des totaux

La SCHL utilise le c.v. pour déterminer le degré de fiabilité statistique des données estimatives sur les totaux et les loyers moyens. Pour que ces données soient publiées, il ne faut pas que le c.v. dépasse 10 %. En établissant la limite acceptable à ce niveau, la SCHL juge qu’un bon équilibre est atteint entre la nécessité de diffuser des données de qualité élevée et celle de ne pas publier des données jugées non fiables.

Voici comment la SCHL détermine le degré de fiabilité des estimations (le c.v. est exprimé en pourcentage) :

  • A — Si le c.v. est supérieur à 0 et inférieur ou égal à 2,5, le degré de fiabilité est excellent.
  • B — Si le c.v. est supérieur à 2,5 et inférieur ou égal à 5, le degré de fiabilité est très bon.
  • C — Si le c.v. est supérieur à 5 et inférieur ou égal à 7,5, le degré de fiabilité est bon.
  • D — Si le c.v. est supérieur à 7,5 et inférieur ou égal à 10, le degré de fiabilité est passable.
  • ** — Si le c.v. est supérieur à 10, le degré de fiabilité est faible (les données ne sont pas publiées).
  • 1 L’Enquête d’avril a été réalisée pour la dernière fois en 2015.
Choisissez l'endroit qui vous intéresse – Aide

Les données sur le marché de l’habitation que fournit la SCHL portent sur plusieurs niveaux géographiques, tant pour l’ensemble du pays que pour un quartier bien précis.

Sélectionnez l’endroit qui vous intéresse à partir de la liste déroulante.

Fermer la fenêtre.
Ajouter cette zone géographique à ma liste de comparaisons.
Faites un zoom sur l’endroit qui vous intéresse et sélectionnez-le.
Changer le sous-marché – Aide
Cliquez sur le haut de la boîte et faites-la glisser n’importe où sur votre écran.
Les options qui s’affichent en gris clair ne sont pas disponibles pour l’endroit sélectionné.

La SCHL fournit des rapports statistiques pour plusieurs sous-marchés des villes et des régions métropolitaines.

Personnalisez les limites et la définition de l’endroit qui vous intéresse en modifiant les paramètres d’affichage des lignes de démarcation de votre sous-marché.

Portail de l’information
sur le marché de l’habitation

Ce portail vous offre gratuitement un accès convivial aux données les plus récentes sur le marché du logement au Canada.

**Vous devez accepter les conditions pour passer à l'étape suivante**

Conditions d’utilisation

La SCHL déploie de nombreux efforts afin de veiller à ce que l’information et les analyses de ce site soient fiables, mais elle ne peut en garantir l’exactitude ni l’exhaustivité. Le contenu de ce site est de nature générale et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils de professionnels lorsque vient le temps de prendre des décisions financières importantes. Vous reconnaissez et convenez que votre utilisation de l'information accessible sur le Portail de l'information sur le marché de l'habitation est régie par l'Entente de license avec la SCHL pour l'utilisation de données et vous acceptez d'être lié par celle-ci lorsque vous utilisez ces informations et, plus particulièrement, vous convenez que vous ne pouvez pas tenir la SCHL responsable de quelque conséquence que ce soit découlant de l’utilisation de cette information et analyses dans la prise d’une décision financière.